Best Local SEO Tools for Small Business (2026)
Updated October 31, 2026. This comparison is written by the team behind tailwind.reviews, one of the seven tools below. To keep it fair, every price and feature comes from each vendor's own website as published on October 31, 2026 (sources at the end), the tools are listed alphabetically, and every tool, ours included, gets a "switch if" and "stay with" line. Prices change, so check the vendor's page before you buy.
The quick answer
- Citations, rank tracking and reviews in one suite: BrightLocal.
- Visual geogrid rank tracking by exact map pin: Local Falcon.
- Wide listings distribution, priced per location: Moz Local.
- Already paying for Semrush: its Local toolkit add-on.
- Reviews, local SEO and AI-search visibility on one published, low price: the Tailwind local SEO toolkit.
- Citation building and rank tracking as separate line items: Whitespark.
- Many locations feeding maps, apps and voice assistants: Yext.
The 7 tools at a glance
Prices as published on October 31, 2026, for one location unless noted.
| Tool | Published price | Citations/listings | Rank tracking | Reviews & GBP | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BrightLocal | $65/mo on Grow ($49/mo billed annually) | Citation tracking, local search audits | 100 keywords, 4 competitors on every plan | GBP audit on every plan; review monitoring and requests on Grow | 14 days, no card |
| Local Falcon | $24.99 to $199.99/mo, credit-based | Not a focus | Geogrid rank tracking, unlimited keywords and locations | Not a focus | 100 free credits on signup |
| Moz Local | $20 to $40/mo per location ($16 to $33/mo billed annually) | 90+ listing directories | "Local Grid" map-pack ranking from the Lite plan up | Review monitoring from Lite; responding and sentiment from Preferred | Not stated |
| Semrush Local | $30 or $60/mo per location, billed annually | Listing Management on the Pro tier | Map Rank Tracker, 375 or 1,225 credits | AI-managed GBP posts and review auto-replies on both tiers | Not stated |
| tailwind.reviews | $5/mo for the SEO tool alone; $50/mo for the full platform | Not the focus; GBP data and schema checks instead | 20 to 200 keywords by plan, tracked weekly | Free site audit, GBP management, schema fixes | First month free, no card |
| Whitespark | Citation Finder $33 to $149/mo; Rank Tracker $14 to $200/mo (sold separately) | Citation Finder software, or a $20-$999 one-time Listings Service | Local Rank Tracker and Ranking Grids, from $10/mo, up to 225 points | Not a focus | Not stated |
| Yext | Not published (quote); small-business packages $199-$999/yr | Pushes data to maps, apps and voice assistants at scale | Not a focus | Review monitoring and analytics on top packages | Not stated |
"Not stated" means the vendor's pages we read didn't say. It doesn't mean the feature is missing. Two pricing models show up repeatedly: a flat price per account (BrightLocal, Local Falcon, tailwind.reviews) and a per-location price that multiplies with every new site you add (Moz Local, Semrush Local, parts of Whitespark). Neither is automatically cheaper; it depends on how many locations you're actually managing.
How we compared them
- Citations and listings: whether the tool finds, builds or fixes your business listings across directories.
- Rank tracking: whether it tracks your position in Google Maps and local search, and how.
- Reviews and Google Business Profile: whether it manages your GBP, monitors reviews, or both.
- Price you can see: whether pricing is published, and what the entry plan costs.
- Free trial: whether you can try it before you pay, and on what terms.
We read each vendor's own product, pricing and help pages. We didn't use third-party review sites or other comparison articles.
1. BrightLocal
A local SEO suite built around three self-service plans that scale by location count. Every plan includes a Local AI Visibility Tracker, a Google Business Profile audit, rank tracking for 100 keywords against 4 competitors, and citation tracking. The top Grow plan adds review monitoring and responses, review request campaigns by email, SMS and in-store, and a review showcase widget. BrightLocal also sells pay-as-you-go citation building from $2 per citation, and a fully managed SEO service starting at $499 a month. The two cheaper plans, Track and Manage, cover the audit and rank-tracking side without the review tools, so if you want reputation features you need Grow specifically, not just any BrightLocal plan.
- Switch if: you want citations, rank tracking and reputation tools bundled at one published price, with a 14-day free trial and no card required.
- Stay with single-purpose tools if: you only need one piece, such as rank tracking alone, and don't want to pay suite pricing for features you won't use.
2. Local Falcon
A geogrid rank tracker, and only that. It scans a grid of map points around your Google Business Profile, from a 3x3 grid up to 21x21, and shows exactly where you rank at each point, not just an average position. Plans run on a credit system: a 5x5 scan uses 25 credits. Every plan, including the cheapest, includes unlimited keywords and locations, campaign and competitor reports, and an AI tool it calls Falcon Agent. New accounts get 100 free credits to test it before buying. Annual plans trade a higher upfront cost for noticeably more credits per dollar, which matters if you plan to scan large grids on a regular schedule rather than spot-checking rank occasionally.
- Switch if: you want to see exactly which blocks or neighborhoods you rank well in, not just one number for "your position."
- Stay with a broader suite if: you also need citation building or review management. Local Falcon tracks rankings only.
3. Moz Local
A listings-management tool priced per location, in three tiers: Lite distributes your data to 90+ directories and includes review monitoring and a "Local Grid" map-pack ranking view; Preferred adds review responding, sentiment analysis and social posting to Google and Facebook; Premium bundles in the Listings AI add-on and expands social posting to Instagram, LinkedIn and TikTok. Lower tiers can add Listings AI for $14/month or Reviews AI for $10/month separately. A custom Enterprise plan covers 50+ locations. Because the price is per location, a five-location business on Preferred is paying closer to $150/month than $30, which is worth doing the multiplication on before comparing it to a flat-rate suite.
- Switch if: your main problem is inconsistent listings across directories, and you already have rank tracking or a review tool elsewhere.
- Stay with an all-in-one suite if: you'd rather pay one price for citations, rank tracking and reviews together instead of layering Moz Local's add-ons on top of its base price.
4. Semrush Local
A local SEO add-on sold separately from Semrush's main SEO plans, priced per location. The Base tier includes automated Google Business Profile management with an AI agent, AI-generated posts, review auto-replies, and a Map Rank Tracker with 375 scan credits. Pro adds Listing Management (pushing your data to directories), fuller review management and a bigger Map Rank Tracker allowance of 1,225 credits. A custom Business tier covers larger accounts. None of this is included free with a standard Semrush SEO subscription; it's billed per location on top, so it behaves more like an add-on purchase than a feature you unlock by upgrading your existing Semrush plan.
- Switch if: you already use Semrush for keyword research or site audits and want local listings and GBP management without adding a new vendor to your stack.
- Stay with a standalone local SEO tool if: you don't use Semrush for anything else. Local is a per-location add-on, not a reason on its own to buy a Semrush plan.
5. tailwind.reviews
Our tool, built for local businesses that want reviews, local SEO and AI-search visibility under one roof instead of three separate subscriptions. The Tailwind local SEO toolkit starts with a free 60-second site audit: it crawls your site, pulls your Google Business Profile data, checks your schema markup, and benchmarks you against local competitors, then hands you a short, prioritized list instead of a wall of metrics. It fixes quick technical wins like missing meta descriptions, broken canonical tags and wrong GBP categories, and tracks 20 to 200 keywords a week by location and device, depending on your plan.
It's priced as part of a broader platform, not a single-purpose SEO tool: $5/month if you only want the SEO toolkit, or $50/month for the full platform, which also covers review collection, AI-drafted review replies, and tracking how ChatGPT and other AI assistants describe your business. Every plan comes with a first month free and no card required; see current plans for the full breakdown. If your reviews and local SEO problems are tangled together, as they usually are for a single location, our review management software comparison covers the reviews side in more depth.
- Switch if: you want local SEO, reviews and AI-search visibility on one published, low price, instead of a specialist tool per job.
- Stay with a dedicated SEO suite if: you need deep citation building across 80+ or more directories, geogrid-level rank tracking visuals, or enterprise-scale keyword tracking. We cover the audit, GBP, schema and weekly rank tracking basics well; we don't try to be a full citation-building or geogrid tool.
6. Whitespark
A local-SEO specialist that sells citation building and rank tracking as separate products rather than one bundle. Its Local Citation Finder software (for finding and monitoring citation opportunities) runs $33-$149/month, while a hands-off Listings Service, where Whitespark's team builds and cleans up your citations for you, is a one-time fee from $20 to $999 depending on the package. On the tracking side, its Local Rank Tracker software runs $14-$200/month, and a separate Local Ranking Grids product, starting at $10/month, visualizes rankings across up to 225 geographic points. Whitespark also sells a one-time "Yext Replacement Service" at $399 per location for businesses that want out of Yext.
- Switch if: you want citation building and rank tracking handled by specialists, and you'd rather buy only the piece you need than pay for a bundle.
- Stay with an all-in-one tool if: you'd rather manage citations and rankings in one dashboard instead of juggling separate Whitespark products with separate prices.
7. Yext
An enterprise location-data platform: it pushes your business information out to maps, apps, voice assistants and search engines, and syncs changes across all of them from one place. Yext's own FAQ page says plainly that it "does not publish standard pricing," and that cost depends on how many locations you manage, which solution bundle you pick, and how long you commit to a contract; billing is typically annual. Yext also runs a separate small-business listings program (sold through partners) with published annual packages from $199 to $999 per year, but Yext's own FAQ says the core platform is "built for large multi-location enterprises," and points smaller businesses toward resellers instead. There's no free tier and no standard free trial on the core platform either; the stated path to a price is a sales demo, not a signup form.
- Switch if: you run many locations and need your location data accurate across a large number of maps, apps and directories at enterprise scale.
- Stay with a published-price tool if: you want to see a number before you talk to sales. Every other tool in this list publishes at least a starting price.
How to choose in five minutes
- Name your actual problem. Wrong or missing listings point to Moz Local or Whitespark. Not knowing where you rank points to Local Falcon or a suite's built-in tracker. A messy Google Business Profile and no time to fix it points to BrightLocal or the Tailwind local SEO toolkit.
- Count your locations. Per-location pricing (Moz Local, Semrush Local, Whitespark's citation packages) adds up fast past a handful of sites; multi-location brands sometimes do better on a flat suite price or a Yext-style enterprise contract.
- Decide if you want one tool or several. BrightLocal, Semrush Local and tailwind.reviews bundle citations, rankings and reviews or GBP into one price. Whitespark and Local Falcon are deliberately narrow and are usually paired with something else.
- Check whether the feature you need is on the plan you're quoted. Review tools sit on BrightLocal's Grow plan and Semrush's Pro tier, not the cheaper tiers below them.
- Test it on your own listing before you commit. Most tools here offer a trial or free credits; run your real business through it, not a demo account.
Questions owners ask
What is the best local SEO software for a small business with one location?
For a single location, the published entry prices here range from $5/month for the SEO tool alone (tailwind.reviews) and $10/month (Whitespark's Ranking Grids) up to $65/month for a full suite (BrightLocal Grow). Which one is "best" depends on whether your real problem is listings, rankings, reviews, or all three; see "How to choose" above.
How much do local SEO tools cost?
As of October 31, 2026, published prices run from $5/month for a single tool up to $200/month for a top-tier single product (Whitespark's Local Rank Tracker), with several tools priced per location instead of per account. Yext doesn't publish standard pricing for its core platform.
Which local SEO tool shows rankings on a map or grid?
Local Falcon is built entirely around geogrid rank tracking. Moz Local includes a simpler "Local Grid" view, Whitespark sells a dedicated Local Ranking Grids product, and BrightLocal and Semrush Local track rankings as part of their broader suites.
Do local SEO tools also help with AI search visibility?
Some do. BrightLocal includes a Local AI Visibility Tracker on every plan, and tailwind.reviews tracks how ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini describe your business as part of its wider platform. Moz Local, Semrush Local, Whitespark, Local Falcon and Yext are focused on traditional search and maps rather than AI assistants.
Is it worth paying per location, or should I look for a flat price?
It depends on how many locations you run. Per-location pricing (Moz Local, Semrush Local, Whitespark's citation packages) can be cheaper than a flat suite at one or two locations, but it scales linearly, so a chain with ten locations should compare the total against a flat-rate or volume-discounted plan rather than assuming per-location is always cheaper. BrightLocal publishes tiered location bands instead of a straight per-location multiplier, so check its pricing page at your exact location count before assuming a per-location tool is cheaper.
Ready to see where your own listing stands? Run a free audit (no signup) and get a prioritized list of fixes in about a minute.
Sources
All pages read on October 31, 2026.
- BrightLocal: pricing
- Whitespark: pricing
- Local Falcon: pricing
- Moz Local: pricing
- Semrush Local: pricing
- Yext: pricing FAQ, small-business listings packages
- tailwind.reviews: pricing, local SEO toolkit
Want more organic traffic, not just AI mentions?
How Tailwind improves your SEO rankings
- Generate content — we improve your SEO rankings
- AI Visibility — see how high you rank in AI answers and exactly what to do
- Connect your business to LLMs — MCP connector
- Online reputation — we grow your rating
- …and other useful tools
All of it from $29/month
Try free — first month on usNo credit card required. Cancel any time.
Subscribe to our newsletter
We send helpful materials once a month, along with information about discounts and special offers. No daily spam
We use your email only to send this newsletter. You can unsubscribe at any time from the link in every email. See our Privacy Policy.
How to unsubscribe from the mailing list?